Welcome to the Avon Scout County Sailing Section websiteascss

Dinghy sailing activity in the County is provided by the Avon Scout County Sailing Section. 

Sailing may be carried out elsewhere in the County but must be supervised by properly authorised leaders/instructors. 

The Section operates mainly in Bristol Harbour, from our base at Nova Scotia Place, close to the Nova Scotia pub and uses Laser Bahia, Wayfarer, Pico, Topper and RS Feva sailing dinghies.  The boats are all stored there and we use a private pontoon and slipway for launching and recovering boats. We also offer more advanced sailing from Chew Valley Lake.

Recognised by the Royal Yachting Association (RYA) as a training establishment, the Section offers both introductory sessions and RYA training courses covering a wide range of abilities.

It is recommended that Scouts attend an introductory session prior to registering for a course in order to get the most benefit. The Section also runs courses for adult leaders to enable them to lead or assist in sailing activities.

 

 

 
PayPal Acceptance Mark

 

Introductory Evenings

Chris Moore
0794 100 5593
intro@ascss.org.uk

ascss.org.uk


RYA Courses

Fenella Clutten
0779 042 9743

courses@ascss.org.uk

Commodore

Paul Breakey
0777 380 5991

paul@ascss.org.uk

 

Club Night

Michael Carr
0792 972 8411
club@ascss.org.uk

Principal

Mike Edney
0797 110 9217

mike@ascss.org.uk

 

Chew Valley

Tony Clutten
0752 522 4521
chew@ascss.org.uk

Chief Sailing Instructor

Fenella Clutten
0779 042 9743
fenella@ascss.org.uk